top of page

Edinburgh TV Awards 2019 Nominations

Today the shortlist has been revealed for the 18th annual Edinburgh TV Awards which this year will be hosted by Mo Gilligan, himself nominated for Best Breakthrough Talent.

The awards will take place during the Edinburgh TV Festival on Thursday 22nd August and is one of the highlights of the TV Festival calendar.

New categories for this year are Online Channel of the Year, UK Broadcaster VOD of the Year and Small Indie of the Year and on the night, award-winning actor, director, singer, musician, screenwriter and author, Hugh Laurie CBE will receive the Edinburgh TV Festival’s Outstanding Achievement Award.

Speaking about hosting the awards, Mo Gilligan said “I’m proud to host the Edinburgh TV Awards this year and excited to help celebrate the industry’s exceptional talent.”

CEO and Festival Director, Lisa Campbell, said “Our new categories reflect the rise of start-up and smaller indies and the increasing importance of online content. Meanwhile, the competition is tougher than ever in the programme categories with some of the biggest, beautifully-crafted, talked-about shows of the year battling it out. Good luck to all our nominees!”

The TV Moment of the Year category, voted for exclusively via the Festival app saw Danny Dyer’s unique take on Brexit on ITV’s Good Evening Britain, claim victory in last year’s awards. This year’s TV Moment of the Year category will open in July and remain open until Thursday, 22nd August, the day of the Edinburgh TV Awards ceremony.

Last year, Channel 5 picked up the coveted Channel of the Year gong, while the Production Company of the Year went to CPL Productions.

The nominees for this year are...

Channel of the Year Award



BBC Four


Channel 4

Channel 5

Best Specialist Channel



BBC Four

Sky Arts


Comedy Central UK

UK Broadcaster VOD of the Year

BBC iPlayer

All 4


Online Channel of the Year

BBC Three

Barcroft TV

Real Stories, Little Dot Studios

Production Company of the Year

CPL Productions

ITN Productions

Merman Television Limited

Studio Lambert

Two Brothers Pictures

World Productions

Small Indie of the Year

Blakeway North

Kalel Productions

Lambent Productions

Mighty Productions Ltd

Renowned Films

Spelthorne Community Television

Best International Drama

The Bridge

The Good Fight

The Handmaid's Tale

The Haunting of Hill House

Killing Eve

Narcos: México

Best UK Drama

Black Mirror: Bandersnatch


Brexit: The Uncivil War

Line of Duty

Patrick Melrose

Sex Education

Best Documentary Programme

The Abused

Bros: After the Screaming Stops


Leaving Neverland: Michael Jackson and Me

Louis Theroux’s Altered States

Stephen: The Murder That Changed a Nation

Best Popular Factual Series

60 Days on the Street

The Great British Bake Off

Harry’s Heroes: The Full English

Old People’s Home for 4 Year Olds

Race Across the World

SAS: Who Dares Wins

Best Entertainment Series

The Big Narstie Show

Britain’s Got Talent


The Greatest Dancer


The Last Leg

Best Comedy Series

After Life


Derry Girls



Stath Lets Flats

Best Breakthrough Talent

Lola Petticrew

Mo Gilligan

Nabhaan Rizwan

Ncuti Gatwa

Saoirse-Monica Jackson

Tamara Lawrance

This year's Edinburgh TV Festival runs from Wednesday 21st to Friday 23rd August and you can book tickets here


bottom of page