top of page


The BBC has released a number of images from Steven Knight's new six-part drama This Town.

This Town tells the story of an extended family and four young people who are drawn into an explosive and iconic music scene. Led by an exciting cast of rising talent as its four young leads, Levi Brown, Jordan Bolger, Ben Rose and Eve Austin.

The six-part series also stars Michelle Dockery, Nicholas Pinnock, David Dawson alongside Geraldine James, Peter McDonald, Freya Parks, Shyvonne Ahmmad, John Heffernan, Stefan Asante-Boateng, Séainín Brennan, George Somner and Brendan Gibson.

This Town is set in a world of family ties, teenage kicks and the exhilarating music of a generation, telling the story of a band’s formation against a backdrop of violence, capturing how creative genius can emerge from a time of madness.

Both a high-octane thriller and a family saga, This Town opens in 1981 at a moment of huge social tensions and unrest. Against this backdrop, it tells the story of a group of young people fighting to choose their own paths in life, and each in need of the second chance that music offers.

The songs performed by the band in the series have been written by acclaimed producer Dan Carey and BRIT and Mercury nominated musician, novelist and poet Kae Tempest.

Created, written and executive produced by Steven Knight, This Town is directed by Paul Whittington, produced by Charlotte Surtees and Tim Whitby and filmed on location in the Birmingham area and at Steven Knight’s new Digbeth Loc. Film and TV Studios,

This Town is produced by Kudos and Nebulastar for the BBC, co-produced with Mercury Studios, in association with Kudos North, Stigma Films and Nick Angel. With executive producers Karen Wilson, Martin Haines and Katie McAleese for Kudos and Jo McClellan for the BBC and co-executive producers Laura Conway, Matthew James Wilkinson and Nick Angel.

This Town will air in 2024 on BBC One

bottom of page