top of page

Sophie Duker to host this year's Edinburgh TV Awards

After two years of virtual ceremonies the Edinburgh TV Awards will finally return to an in-person event as part of the festival this August.

Sue Vertue will serve as this year’s Jury President with Sophie Duker as the Awards host.

The celebration of all the best TV in the UK and around the world will take place at the Edinburgh TV Festival on Thursday 25th August where special awards such as Global Success, Outstanding Achievement Award, and the only award of the night voted for by the public, TV Moment of the Year, will be handed out.

Hartswood Films CEO, Company Director and Executive Producer, Sue Vertue, is bringing her in-depth knowledge and expertise to the TV Awards juries as she takes the role of Jury President for 2022.

One of the UK’s leading producers behind multiple, award-winning hit shows such as Sherlock, Vicar of Dibley, Coupling and Dracula, Vertue is a preeminent producer of scripted shows that resonate across the globe.

On hosting the awards, Sophi Duker said "Delighted, thrilled, ecstatic to be hosting the TV Awards in Edinburgh this Feral Girl Summer. Before I was ON telly I used to work IN telly so my knickers are absolutely fizzing at the prospect of glamorously snubbing former colleagues."

"Television is one of our most potent antidepressants and some of the reprobates who work in it are disgustingly talented - I simply can't wait to shake each winner's worthy, meticulously sanitised hand!"

And speaking about chairing the jury for this year's Edinburgh TV Awards, Sue added "It is a great thrill to Chair the Jury for this year’s Edinburgh TV Awards, especially as we are back again ‘in person’."

"From practical experience, I know how hard it has been to film during these last few Covid years, but even with that, our amazing TV industry has gone full throttle delivering some of the most creative, thought-provoking and thoroughly entertaining shows I have seen in a long time."

"That quality of content is reflected in this amazing shortlist which fills me with joy and hope that despite everything happening in the world, we have such talented people making television that reflects life in all its many forms from laugh out loud comedy to heart-wrenching factual and everything in between. I very much look forward to deliberating with my fellow jurors and listening to what we all have to say of these truly inspiring nominees."

Duker promises to bring her brilliantly acerbic take on the year’s TV to the industry’s great and the good as she hands out the gongs that everyone wants to win.

This year’s Awards shortlist boasts some of the UK’s best acting and producing talent, celebrating the best in class of UK and international television. With a broad range of production companies recognised within the list, four broadcasting platforms dominate the programme and broadcaster related categories; BBC has amassed a huge 20 nominations whilst Channel 4 have secured 12, Sky 7 and Netflix 5.

To determined the shortlist for TV Moment of the Year, The Edinburgh TV Awards want to hear what the moment are that have got you talking, crying, laughing and grabbing your phone. Send your nominations here.

The nominations in full are:

Best Comedy Series

After Life (Netflix)

Mandy (BBC Two)

Motherland (BBC Two)

The Outlaws (BBC One)

Sex Education (Netflix)

Stath Lets Flats (Channel 4)

Best TV Actor - Comedy

Daisy Haggard, Back To Life (BBC Three)

Esther Smith, Trying (Apple TV+)

Rafe Spall, Trying (Apple TV+)

Reece Shearsmith, Inside No.9 (BBC Two)

Rose Matafeo, Starstruck (BBC Three)

Samson Kayo, Bloods (Sky Comedy)

Best Drama

Help (Channel 4)

Landscapers (Sky Atlantic)

The Responder (BBC One)

TThis Is Going To Hurt (BBC One)

Time (BBC One)

Top Boy (Netflix)

Best International Drama

Gomorrah (Sky Atlantic)

Mare of Easttown (Sky Atlantic)

Pachinko (Apple TV+)

Squid Game (Netflix)

Succession (Sky Atlantic)

Vigil (BBC One)

Best TV Actor - Drama

Jodie Comer, Help (Channel 4)

Leslie Manville, I Am Maria (Channel 4)

Letitia Wright, I Am Danielle (Channel 4)

Maxine Peake, Anne (ITV)

Sharlene Whyte, Stephen (ITV)

Stephen Graham, Time (BBC One)

Breakthrough Talent - Actor

Ambika Mod

Danielle Macdonald

Dipo Ola

Gamba Cole

Best Documentary

9/11: Inside the President's War Room (BBC One & Apple TV+)

9/11: One Day in America (National Geographic)

Blair & Brown: The New Labour Revolution (BBC Two)

Positive (Sky Documentaries)

The Return: Life After Isis (Sky Documentaries)

The Tinder Swindler (Netflix)

Best Entertainment Series

Ant & Dec's Saturday Night Takeaway (ITV)

Gogglebox (Channel 4)

The Graham Norton Show (BBC One)

The Last Leg (Channel 4)

The Lateish Show with Mo Gilligan (Channel 4)

Taskmaster (Channel 4)

Best Popular Factual Series

24 Hours in Police Custody (Channel 4)

Joe Lycett's Got Your Back (Channel 4)

Long Lost Family: Born Without Trace (ITV)

Mortimer and Whitehouse: Gone Christmas Fishing (BBC Two)

Trip Hazard: My Great British Adventure (Channel 4)

Uprising (BBC One)

Best TV Presenter

AJ Odudu & Mo Gilligan, The Big Breakfast (Channel 4)

Graham Norton, The Graham Norton Show (BBC One)

Greg Davies & Alex Horne, Taskmaster (Channel 4)

Joe Lycett, Joe Lycett's Got Your Back (Channel 4)

Professor Benjamin Zephaniah, Life & Rhymes (Sky Arts)

Tinie, Extraordinary Extensions (Channel 4)

Breakthrough Talent - Presenter


Munya Chawawa

Tayo Oguntonade

Zeze Millz

Best On-Demand Service


BBC iPlayer

STV Player

Channel of the Year


BBC Three


Channel 4

Channel 5


Production Company of the Year

Clapperboard Studios

ITN Productions

Merman Television

Objective Media Group


Two Brothers Pictures

Small Indie of the Year

Afro-Mic Productions


Firecrest Films

Hardcash Productions

Mam Tor Productions

Rogan Productions

Climate Impact Award

COP26: In Your Hands (Sky Kids)

Greta Thunberg: A Year To Change The World (BBC One)

Horrible Histories (CBBC)

Joe Lycett Vs The Oil Giant (Channel 4)

The Earthshot Prize : Repairing Our Planet (BBC One)

The Green Planet (BBC One)

The Edinburgh TV Awards will take place Thursday 25th August at the Edinburgh TV Festival


bottom of page