top of page

BAFTA TV Craft Awards Nominations 2020

Chernobyl, The Crown and His Dark Materials lead the British Academy Television Craft Awards.

This year's British Academy Television Craft Awards were postponed due to the Covid-19 pandemic and will now take place on Friday 17th July, hosted by Stephen Mangan for the 11th time and broadcast and streamed online.

Watch on YouTube here and on Facebook here.

The 2020 BAFTA TV Craft nominations in full are... (BAFTA TV nominations here)

Breakthrough Talent

Aisling Bea, Writer, This Way Up, Channel 4

Aneil Karia, Director, Pure (episode 4), Channel 4 + Top Boy (episode 10), Netflix

Laurie Nunn, Writer, Sex Education, Netflix

Sean Buckley, Writer, Responsible Child, BBC Two

Costume Design

Caroline McCall, His Dark Materials, BBC One

Joanna Eatwell, Beecham House, ITV

Michele Clapton, Game of Thrones, Sky Atlantic

Odile Dicks-Mireaux, Chernobyl, Sky Atlantic

Director: Factual

Arthur Cary, The Last Survivors, BBC Two

Dan Reed, Leaving Neverland, Channel 4

Mark Lewis, Don’t F**k with Cats: Hunting an Internet Killer, Netflix

Robin Barnwell, Undercover: Inside China’s Digital Gulag (Exposure), ITV

Director: Fiction

Harry Bradbeer, Fleabag, BBC Three

Johan Renck, Chernobyl, Sky Atlantic

Shane Meadows, The Virtues, Channel 4

Toby Haynes, Brexit: The Uncivil War, Channel 4

Director: Multi Camera

Bridget Caldwell, The Royal British Legion Festival of Remembrance, BBC One

Janet Fraser Crook, Glastonbury 2019, BBC Two

Matthew Griffiths, Six Nations 2019 - Wales v England, BBC One

Paul McNamara, ITV Racing: Cheltenham Festival, ITV

Editing: Factual

Andy R. Worboys, Untouchable: The Rise and Fall of Harvey Weinstein, BBC Two

Jules Cornell, Leaving Neverland, Channel 4

Kim Horton, 63 Up, ITV

Michael Harte, Don’t F**k with Cats: Hunting an Internet Killer, Netflix

Editing: Fiction

Dan Crinnion, Killing Eve (episode 4), BBC One

Elen Pierce Lewis, Giri/Haji, BBC Two

Gary Dollner, Fleabag, BBC Three

Simon Smith, Jinx Godfrey, Chernobyl, Sky Atlantic

Entertainment Craft Team

Amber Rimell, Bronski, Misty Buckley, Tim Routledge, Glastonbury 2019 (Stormzy), BBC Two

David Bishop, Vicky Gill, Andy Tapley, Patrick Doherty, Strictly Come Dancing, BBC One

Mark Busk-Cowley, Steve Kruger, Iain Stirling, James Tinsley, Love Island, ITV2

Nigel Catmur, Patrick Doherty, Kevin Duff, Andrew Stokes, The Royal British Legion Festival of Remembrance, BBC One

Make Up & Hair Design

Daniel Parker, Barrie Gower, Chernobyl, Sky Atlantic

Inma Azorin, The Trial of Christine Keeler, BBC One

Kirstin Chalmers, Catherine the Great, Sky Atlantic

Loz Schiavo, Peaky Blinders, BBC One

Original Music

Adrian Johnston, Giri/Haji, BBC Two

Andrew Phillips, War in the Blood, BBC Two

David Holmes, Keefus Ciancia, Killing Eve, BBC Three

Hildur Gudnadóttir, Chernobyl, Sky Atlantic

Photography & Lighting: Factual

Bertie Gregory, Howard Bourne, John Shier, Seven Worlds, One Planet, BBC One

Doug Anderson, Roger Horrocks, Gavin Thurston, Our Planet (Coastal Seas), Netflix

Jamie McPherson, Hector Skevington-Postes, Barrie Britton, Our Planet (Frozen Worlds), Netflix

Patrick Smith, Neil Harvey, Untouchable: The Rise and Fall of Harvey Weinstein, BBC Two

Photography & Lighting: Fiction

Adriano Goldman, The Crown, Netflix

Jakob Ihre, Chernobyl, Sky Atlantic

Joe Anderson, Top Boy, Netflix

Suzie Lavelle, His Dark Materials (episode 3), BBC One

Production Design

Laurence Dorman, Killing Eve, BBC Three

Luke Hull, Claire Levinson-Gendler, Chernobyl, Sky Atlantic

Martin Childs, Alison Harvey, The Crown, Netflix

Samantha Harley, Miri Katz, Sex Education, Netflix

Scripted Casting

Des Hamilton, Top Boy, Netflix

Lauren Evans, Sex Education, Netflix

Nina Gold, Robert Sterne, Chernobyl, Sky Atlantic

Yoko Narahashi, Shaheen Baig, Layla Merrick-Wolf, Giri/Haji, BBC Two

Sound: Factual

Graham Wild, Kate Hopkins, Seven Worlds, One Planet, BBC One

Graham Wild, Kate Hopkins, Tim Owns, Our Planet (One Planet), Netflix

Nick Fry, Steve Speed, James Evans, Nick Adams, Formula 1: Drive to Survive, Netflix

Sound Team, Battle of the Brass Bands, Sky Arts

Sound: Fiction

Dillon Bennett, Jon Thomas, Gareth Bull, James Ridgeway, His Dark Materials, BBC One

Ian Wilkinson, Lee Walpole, Fraser Barber, Stuart Hilliker, A Christmas Carol, BBC One

Stefan Henrix, Joe Beal, Stuart Hilliker, Vincent Piponnier, Chernobyl, Sky Atlantic

Sound Team, The Crown, Netflix

Special, Visual & Graphic Effects

Ben Turner, Chris Reynolds, Asa Shoul, The Crown, Netflix

Framestore, Painting Practice, Real SFX, Russell Dodgson, His Dark Materials, BBC One

Lindsay McFarlane, Claudius Christian Rauch, Jean-Clement Soret, Dneg, Chernobyl, Sky Atlantic

Milk Visual Effects, Gareth Spensley, Real SFX, Good Omens, Amazon Prime Video

Titles & Graphic Identity

Alex MacLean, The Durrells, ITV

Elastic, Catherine the Great, Sky Atlantic

Elastic, Painting Practice, His Dark Materials, BBC One

Light Creative, Ghosts, BBC One

Writer: Comedy

Danny Brocklehurst, Brassic, Sky One

Jamie Demetriou, Stath Lets Flats, Channel 4

Phoebe Waller-Bridge, Fleabag, BBC Three

Sam Leifer, Tom Basden, Plebs, ITV2

Writer: Drama

Charlie Covell, The End of the F***ing World, Channel 4

Craig Mazin, Chernobyl, Sky Atlantic

Jesse Armstrong, Succession, Sky Atlantic

Shane Meadows, Jack Thorne, The Virtues, Channel 4

The 2020 British Academy Television Craft Awards will take place on Friday 17th July and will be streamed online


bottom of page